Journal52

Today the sun is shining. I have been busy in my little craft room most of the day. Today I have been working on the cover for a challenge I am involved called Journal52. We get a challenge for each week I have been using a book that I got at a conference… I never used a book like this before so it is a challenge as the pages are a little light n weight but I will persevere. This art Journaling is so new to me that I feel I can practice, build up my confidence and worry about wasting paper or all that STUFF that goes through your head, when starting something new.
I am also trying to make this work for another challenge I am involved in and that is MIX53 and we were to use at least 3 layers in a card or for an Art journal page.
This was such fun. I used a couple of stencils and modeling paste to have some dimension, some newsprint and then sprayed with my Lindy sprays. While at Walmart yesterday I found the Bird stencils, so I HAD to use them in some way. I used Acrylic paint to color the one bird and the sprayed the other one… then decided to do some doodling on them.. I fussy cut them out and placed them on the page. The lettering was also done with a stencil. I used some Tim Holtz gears that I have been hoarding for ever.
The verse I found in an old poetry book I found of my Mother’s. She gave my Dad this book in 1928. So it has all the oldies in it. I feel this book is a real treasure. The poem is called “GOD’S WILL FOR YOU AND ME”.
Jounal52

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Journal52

  1. sandeeNC says:

    wow, love the doodled birds, your cover is amazing! I also adore that you were able to use a poem from your Mother’s book, I’d love to have some ephemera like that! waving hi from the hills of North Carolina ♥

  2. This cover is awesome and I LOVE those birds!!! I love that you used a poem from a book from Grandma! How cool. You’re rocking this Mixed Media style just like I knew you would. You have an eye for composition that lends itself very well to this art form. Luv ya Mom!! ❤
    Yvonne

  3. libbyQ says:

    your cover is just amazing and i love your style~!
    i haven’t created a cover yet and may decide to bind some of my pages up separately from one another as i’ve done some fabric/stitched work . . . love the freedom that art journaling gives~!

    🙂
    libbyQ

Leave a Reply

