Roses and Daisies

So I think I should redeem myself after that last post!!!!!
This time I really wanted to try a painting from scratch…. I have had this calendar for ages and the pictures are so pretty of flowers and birds… I thought it would be so nice to be able to try and paint something similar….. Thanks to Kathy Arbor. and The Frugal Crafter and their teaching, I decided to try it out.
The calendar is huge so I tried to get the same idea onto a 6X4 watercolor piece of paper….
I am actually very pleased with the result… I never thought I could sketch and then paint something to remotely look like that….
I had some water color backgrounds so decided to use them and then back to my faithful acrylics for he flowers and birds…. I am now wondering… do I outline them in pen or just leave as is.. Please say what you think…. The afternoon just flew by but I did enjoy the effort….
I enjoy your comments….
Roses and Daisies

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Roses and Daisies

  1. Marjorie says:

    That’s a hard question. I really like the softness of it not being outlined. It is more realistic. On the other hand perhaps just a light outline partially on the yellow belly of the bird might be OK but I really like it the way it is. Well done my friend! Waiting for your next effort.

  2. I love these. They’re soooo beautiful! I love the realistic look of them and if anything, maybe a faint outline around the border of the whole page. If you’re looking for a more mixed media look, then I’d totally outline the elements with my charcoal pencil to add some depth and then give it a random shot of white. Personally, I think for these and the background you have right now, I’d leave as is and just do the border. 🙂 ❤
    Hugs,
    Yvonne

Leave a Reply

